30 Days?!? I couldn’t even do 1!!

Julien Smith recently posted a link on his Twitter page on Why We Should Quit the Internet. He tells how he’s quitting the Internet for 30 days to focus on other areas of his life. It got me thinking. Could I really quit using the Internet for an entire month? Granted, right now with school and everything, it wouldn’t be possible, but even this summer when I don’t have a real need to be online, I don’t think I could do it.

I’m online practically every waking hour doing something and nowadays with everyone having a smart phone, it’s hard to break the habit. Even if I could manage to cut out my use of social networks for a brief moment, I couldn’t just ditch the Internet altogether. It’s my primary way of getting all sorts of information in the matter of a couple clicks.

I know unplugging every once in a while allows us to put our minds at ease and to focus on other things, but I think we have a need to stay connected and no one should try to take that away from us.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

