Brilliant Branding

Now back to this whole idea of branding… Commercials use several different tactics to attract their target market, but sometimes there are other ways to market a product.

Take the Motorla Xoom for instance. (For all of you who live under a rock, it’s the new Android powered tablet.) Tuesday morning I strolled into Best Buy to pre-order this beautiful machine. (I’m proud to say I was the first one to do so that day!) How did I know about this already? The Internet has been feeding me mounds of information about this tablet for weeks now. Several different tech. podcasts have been promoting it like mad. I never saw one commercial on TV, but I knew more about it than the Best Buy employees themselves. That’s how successful the Internet can be!

Movies also have a way of throwing in a little product placement here and there. If you’ve seen The Ugly Truth with Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler than you know all about the Astrea vibrating panties. They were created by leading sex expert, Dr. Laura Berman and have now received world-renowned recognition. As a matter of fact, Emily Morse, host of Sex With Emily, has even recommended them to her listeners. To be quite honest, as soon as I heard about these panties, I was interested. I haven’t purchased them yet, but they’re definitely on my to-do-list.

Of course, I am only one person and these are only two products, but even so, I became interested in these products and have since recommended them to other people. These are  only a couple examples of brilliant marketing strategies that probably didn’t take too much effort on the company’s part.  

 

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brilliant Branding

  1. Great post lady! You can’t do anything anymore with out seeing some sort of product placement or advertising. I will find myself so far away from my original goal while on the internet, because I’ve clicked on ads on websites and started shopping. I’ve even found myself lost for hours, and all of the sudden it’s three in the morning and I am both without any money in my account, and my paper isn’t done. I love that you used the example in “The Ugly Truth”, that scene with the vibrating panties is hilarious. I love reading your posts because they are provocative, and to the point!

Leave a Reply

