NOT My Wisconsin

If you’re from Wisconsin, you know the whole issue with Governor Walker and his plan to take away collective bargaining from public workers. I’m not one to discuss politics publically, but I can’t hold back on this one. For something that has been going on for 50 years, I think it’s an outrageous move on his part.

Some may argue these employees, especially teachers have too much power. It’s so easy to make a statement like that when you’re not in that position. Teachers don’t make shit as it is, so it’s only fair they have these rights. If you’re not happy with your pay and benefits, go back to school, get a different job, or leave the state and quit bitching! The only people who are in support of Walker are the ones not benefiting from collective bargaining right now and they’re just jealous. Plan and simple.

Walker claims he is trying to correct this upcoming $137 million deficit Wisconsin will be facing. There are so many other ways to save the state money. We could raise the taxes for the wealthy and alter some of these economic support programs we have in place. The system is so fucked up as it is; Governor Walker is only seeking to make it worse.

So many citizens in Dane County alone are benefiting from Section 8, FoodShare, WIC, Energy Assistance, etc. and at the same time they’re smoking crack or shooting dope all while not working. The idea behind these programs is to help lower-income families survive while they are trying to better themselves. The goal should be to get these people off these programs, but that’s not what’s happening. These programs only help the uneducated and incompetent. These people are “lifers” and if you want my opinion, they’re the fucking scum of our society.

I’m 23 years with a 2-year-old son. I work two jobs and I’m taking 19 credits and I DON’T get shit from the state. They won’t help me with my rent because I’m going to school and they say I’m too educated. Well, isn’t that fucked up? But, they will require me to pay more on my electric bill just so they can help fund the Energy Assistance program.

As far as I’m concerned, Governor Walker and his followers are delusional. I’m in total support of ANYONE and EVERYONE who is against him and I hope the protests continue.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

