Cow Branding Burns Just as Bad…Be Careful of the Brand You Create For Yourself

I’ve been paying a little more attention to personal brands lately. Certain celebrities are notorious for certain characteristics, whether they want to be or not. Social networks, such as Twitter are a good way to gain a feel of one’s own personal brand.  As I’ve been looking through my Twitter timeline, I’ve come to notice what’s important to who.

Hugh Hefner’s posts are constantly about promoting the Playboy brand. Not that that should be surprising to anyone, but he’s 85 years old. Hasn’t he made enough money and how much more pussy does that guy need? He has been extremely successful for many years and he will be until the day he dies. He needs to lay off the promotions and just focus on him and relax.

Michael “The Situation” Sorrentino is perceived to be a narcissistic individual. As shown by his tweets, he is very into himself. Nearly every tweet relates back to him. He just recently tweeted that a new Carnival cruiselines’ drink has been named after him and he seemed pretty stoked about it. He also posted a link on his page to a site showing “How to Rock the Sitch Look.” Not to mention, every five minutes, he feels the need to lift up his shirt and show off his rock-hard abs. Now that is a situation, I admit, but enough is enough.

Oprah Winfrey is another story. She tends to promote her talk show on her page constantly, but there’s a big difference in the way she does it. She focuses on other people with empowering stories. She rarely focuses on herself. Oprah is committed to helping out mankind and it shows in her tweets.

It’s hard to change one’s brand once it’s out there, even if you’re not a celeb, so I wonder if I’ll become more cautious when I tweet.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

