Missing the Good Ol’ Days

Connecting with friends just isn’t the same as it used to be.  Everything is online now. Everyone is connecting with people on social networks.

I would love to go back to how it was for me in 5th grade, right before I had Internet at home. This is when  I would ask my friends during school what they were doing for the weekend. This is when I would call the boy I sat next to in class to see which one of my friends he had a crush on. This is when I would pass notes back and forth in class, instead of IM’ing.

Now so many people hide behind their computer screen. Conversations aren’t as personable. They’re not as meaningful. People may plaster their text windows full of emoticons, but it’s nothing compared to a real smile or a real hug. How many people type “LOL” and aren’t laughing? I’ve seen people do it a million times. How many times have you misinterpreted an IM that your friend sent because you missed out on nonverbal cues?

Social networks are a way to stay connected, but if you can afford a phone call and/or a ride, why are you online?

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Missing the Good Ol’ Days

  1. sweden7 says:

    I absolutely agree with you! It is so easy to send off a text message or an email to someone, but the intimacy and personality behind the messages get lost somewhere in translation. I definitely count myself as one of the people missing face-to-face interaction, because 1) it feels more personal and 2) I don’t understand half of all the abbreviations that my friends send me 🙂

  2. I agree Rockey! Not only do we hide behind our computer screens, I think we have a false sense of community and friendship while online. Being “friends” with someone on Facebook doesn’t mean we would actually hang out with that person, or tell them our personal life face-to-face. Coincidentally, we have no problem doing it on the internet. I always mean to widdle down my Facebook friends list to only people I would like to have a beer with. Facebook and other social networks have sucked the real-life personalities out of us, and we have all turned into online identities. Turn off the computer, and pick up your phones people. Lets not lose touch!

Leave a Reply

