Forced to Get On, Now Can’t Get Off

Twitter has been around for about five years now and I have never seemed the least bit intrigued by it, but I’m required to have an account for a class I’m taking, so a couple weeks ago, I made the big jump. To my surprise, it’s been a good experience.

I love how I can “follow” famous people and because their accounts are verified, I know it’s really them.  Already I’m following 61 celebs (all with verified accounts) and I’m learning a lot about each and every one of them. My favorites include the Kardashians and the cast of Jersey Shore (minus Angelina, of course.) I often “retweet” what one of them says just because I find it interesting. Occasionaly, I’ll even “tweet” something myself. My new favorite thing to do is attempting to start a trending topic. Just recently, DJ Pauly D was trying to use the hashtag, #teamdjpaulyd to become the next trending topic and even with all my tweeting, it wasn’t a success. (It’s okay Pauly, we’ll get ’em next time!)

If you’re one who is scared of the thought of social networking, I encourage you to step on up. It’s not that hard to learn and you might just have some fun in the process.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

