Elementary Bullies

One of my professors brought a certain article to my attention. Not far from where I live, in McFarland, Wisconsin, a certain elementary school recently dealt with an outrageous form of bullying. Kids who favor the Packers, were bullying their classmates because they are Bear fans! One child even threatened to pour water on another kid’s head because of his Chicago pride.

Just hearing this makes me question the type of parents these “bullies” have. Remember those commercials from back in the day that said, “Be a fan, not a fanatic?” Maybe they need to run those again because apparently the message has not gotten across. On the other hand, seeing the results of the last game, maybe these Packer kids should just tell the Bear kids to eat it. I’m only kidding, of course, but whatever the case, something needs to be done about this bullying or else it’ll only get worse.

The media is definitely not helping with this problem either. As I was helping to produce the line up for a morning show at NBC, I learned of another elementary school divided. A Bear fan and principle of a local Peshtigo, Wisconsin elementary school held a school conference in which the Bear-Packer rivalry continued. Many of the students dressed up in Packer attire and shouted from across the gymnasium at the principal and other students who were Bear fans. These may seem innocent, but it’s definitely not helping with bully prevention.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Things to think about.... Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

