Trevhar Skyy

I love being a parent. I’ve watched my son grow from 7 lbs. 3 oz. and 19 inches long to 33 lbs. 3 oz. and 36 inches long, all in the matter of two years. Since the day he was born he hasn’t slept through the night once, which can be frustrating at times, especially considering he wakes up by 7 A.M. each morning, but it’s all worth it. I love seeing that first big smile on his face when he wakes up. I even love the way he jumps on me like I’m a damn jungle gym. He is amazing. What they say is true, you never know how much you can love someone until you have a child.

Recently, he’s been learning a lot. He talks a lot more and is beginning to react to the world around him. For some reason, he has developed his own language that I’ve come to understand. He will even look me in the eyes now, which makes me feel so good. It’s like his way of telling me he trusts me. I can tell he wants me to give him a little more leniency though because he’s always running off on his own, exploring the big world around him.

He doesn’t go to daycare because thankfully, my fiancée’s schedule correlates with mine in a way that he doesn’t have to go, but I almost feel guilty like I’m preventing him from socializing with other children. Whenever we’re out in public and my son sees another child, he gets so excited; he can barely control himself. I know it would be good for him to meet and play with other children his own age, but for the time being, I have to be selfish, I just can’t let go.

Before I know it, my son will be packing his bags and heading to college. I cannot even imagine surviving that one, but even before that, I have to face his first day of Kindergarten, his first girlfriend, and everything else. I’m guessing I’ll have a harder time than him when he goes off to school for the first time, but while all these challenges await me, I’ll just enjoy being the only woman in his life.

About alrockey

I'm a Communications major, have two jobs, and take care of my two-year-old son. I'm also engaged and look forward to starting my life out in the professional world of broadcasting when I graduate.
This entry was posted in Baby Boy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

